Marie Browning

"Inspiring and honoring creativity"

100 Days of Tombow November 28, 2013

IMG_2147This is the time of year that we start to look for ideas for gifts for the holidays. I am going to give the gift of creativity by giving art journals. To make them special, I stamped and colored a label for the fount cover. The pen nibs are a stamp from Stampers Anonymous that I stamped onto gray cardstock. I used Pale colored Dual Brush Pens for the base colors and then added darker shading over top using Irojiten Colored Pencils. I also used Eggshell VP-4 Irojiten pencil to add highlights to the stamped pen nibs.

IMG_2148The sketch books I found had a pencil at the top held on with a piece of black elastic. I will be changing these out with my favorite ‘Art-on-the-go’ Pen from Tombow. It’s the Zoom 414 Multi-Funticon Pen. It is a beautiful fine pen that write in black ink, red ink and also includes a mechanical pencil. Perfect for sketching and writing in an art journal.

I am also celebrating the 100 days of Tombow with this post. Since its launch in March 2013, more than 60 crafting bloggers have joined forces in contributing to this amazing movement in crafting and scrapbooking history. Every submission for the “100 Days of Tombow” blogging program will result in a $100.00 product donation to the Council for Arts Education.  Each of their projects have contributed to Tombow’s goal of donating up to $10,000 in product to the Council for Art Education and have been featured worldwide on social media outlets such as Pinterest, Facebook and YouTube. Not to mention, the campaign has been recognized by multiple national crafting media outlets, resulting in more than 3 million media impressions amongst craft bloggers. Wow! This is definitely something that you do not want to miss!”

IMG_2149

I also thought I would show you what I carry for creating in my journal when traveling. It looks like a lot, but it all fits into a 8″ x 6″ pouch and with the sketchbook, takes up very little room in my suitcase. Maybe these will give you some ideas for putting together a travel art kit for your favorite artist on your list!

Starting from the top right;

Blending Palette – for creating even more colors with the Dual Brush Pens by mixing them together on the palette and then picking up with the colorless blender.

Power Tabs - perfect for adhering ANYTHING into your sketchbook! The tabs are also handy for posing the mini manikin into places for a photo op!

Dual Brush Pens - I carry pale colors, so I can quickly color a base and then add detail with the Irojiten colored pencils! I also carry a few neutrals such as brown and gray for shading and sepia toned drawings mixed with graphite pencil. And of course, the colorless blender.

Glue Pen - For gluing in small objects and for using as a resist with the Dual Brush Pens.

Permanent Black Pens – The Mono Twin has two different nib widths for drawing and writing and I LOVE the new Fudenosuke Brush Pen that gives me a beautiful varied black line. Perfect for sketching and produces gorgeous writing!

Drawing Pencils  – My most used grades; B, F and 2H for drawing in journals

Zero Eraser – I like the Rectangle Tip Zero Eraser in my travel pouch

Irojiten Colored Pencils – A great set with the basic colors; Primary 5 Pencil set.

Dot Adhesive Runner – for all my basic ‘sticking down’ needs

I also like to carry a tag with twine and clips, a mini manikin and a pair of sharp scissors. Want your scissors hand engraved? Check it out on my website!

What do you carry in your art pouch?

 

One Response to “100 Days of Tombow”

  1. Daniel Says:

    Wonderful! I recently discovered the Tombow pencils and I enjoy them! I also carry many colour pencils, permanent markers, three sorts of erasers, a brush and a water bush (instead of the Tombow N00 blender) Greetings!


Leave a Reply

