Marie Browning

"Inspiring and honoring creativity"

Critter Cards with Elizabeth Craft Designs April 15, 2013

Blog Hop_ECD

Welcome to the Tombow and Elizabeth Craft Design Blog Hop!

If you just came from Jennie’s blog you are on the right track!

It’s been a long love affair with me and the beautiful peel-offs from Elizabeth Craft Designs! Along with the Dual Brush Markers and adhesives from Tombow, it was easy and fun to create these all-occasion critter cards!

IMG_0751

IMG_0752

IMG_0753

I started with one sheet of gold Lady Bug Peel-offs (one sheet made lots of cards!) and placed them on smooth, hot press watercolor paper. I like to use a piercer to lift and stick these outline stickers for best results. I selected my Dual Brush Pen colors from the 96 available and colored the bugs using a direct to paper watercolor technique. I applied the color to the edges of the motif, and with a water brush, blended the colors into the spaces. The thick walls of the sticker help to hold the color in and make blending easy! I also colored in a few spaces with a clear glitter gel pen.

IMG_0754

When cutting out the bugs, I simply cut the antenna off – way too hard to cut around – and replaced with ones made from 22 gauge gold wire. Attach them with 1/2 of a Power Tab. I also used the Dots Stamp Runner to adhere the cardstock panels together, Power Tabs and MONO Multi Liquid Glue to construct the paper rosette and Foam Tabs to create the dimension.

IMG_0757

IMG_0756

IMG_0755

IMG_0758

Here are the finished cards – I have been combining bright colors on a contrasting background of late – I think I like it! What do you think?

`IMG_0760

Don’t forget to comment on all the blog post for Today for your chance to win an AMAZING Prize Package with Tombow Dual Brush Pens and Elizabeth Craft Peel-off stickers!

Next on the Hop is the Elizabeth Craft blog!

VWP_0507signature-234

If you enjoyed this post please follow me on:

Facebook facebo

Twitter
twitter

 

28 Responses to “Critter Cards with Elizabeth Craft Designs”

  1. Debbie Fisher Says:

    Cute cards Marie!

  2. else49 Says:

    Really cute these cards. And so simple the way you show it.

  3. Cute cards. I love the contrasting backgrounds!

  4. forrestwife Says:

    super fab coloring with these amazing peel off stickers!

  5. sharon gullikson Says:

    Gosh the colors are so pretty and vibrant. I love them!

  6. natasha Poteraj Says:

    How cute. I really like the bee.

  7. Ruby Taylor Says:

    Your cards are all wonderful….love the colors!!

  8. Jean Bullock Says:

    Darling cards and I love those peel offs. Great coloring too.

  9. Tami B Says:

    I love the butterfly & ladybug stickers and the way you colored them up is wonderful.

  10. Caroline D. Says:

    They are ALL beautiful cards! I like the brightly colored bugs on the neutral background… very appealing!

  11. Shari Zeigler Says:

    Love how you did your stickers!

  12. Robin Buchholz Says:

    Beautiful cards, I love the colors you used in the bugs. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Barb Penn Says:

    The colors are so vibrant, just beautiful.

  14. Jeanne Shipman Says:

    Loving your color contrast.Very striking! Jeanne Shipman

  15. Wow, they look like stained glass…beautiful!! Thanks for sharing and for showing which Tombow paint markers you’re using.

  16. Amy#8546(TheTigersHaven) Says:

    Wow…. Those colors are amazing…. It really does look like stains glass… Beautiful work…

  17. Kailash Says:

    Oh these are gorgeous, love the bright vivid colors !!

  18. Very cute cards! I really like the bugs over the rosettes! What a nice effect!

  19. j. swart Says:

    the peel offs and tombos always look so good. love the rosette twist

  20. Renee Says:

    These are all so cute! Love that you made your own antennaes. These make me want to make cards right now.

  21. Lisa M Says:

    These are all great! I love the coloring on all of them and can’t pick a favorite! Thanks for sharing!

  22. Joy H Says:

    LOVE your finished cards Marie! The colours really stand out against the backgrounds.

  23. Denise Bryant Says:

    Wonderful cards! Love the tutorial! The Peel Off stickers are so much fun… great coloring!

  24. Cassie Says:

    love how it looks like stained glass

  25. Bridget Says:

    Love the colors you used!

  26. Lots of cute ideas….gonna get me some Elizabeth’s supplies ~ thanks! Carol M in TX/carolswingster77@aol.com

  27. michele decker Says:

    Tombow colors my world and those peel offs are pretty cool too!

  28. Your cards are super cute!! I LOVE the ladybugs on top of the rosettes!!
    TFS!! Take Care!!
    Jennie @ http://earthyscrap.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

