Marie Browning

"Inspiring and honoring creativity"

Negative Image ZIA by Marie Browning June 3, 2013

IMG_1331

Welcome to the Tombow Blog Hop! If you have come here from Jennie’s blog then you’re on track! Here is a negative image ZIA (Zentangle Inspired Art) that I created and colored using Tombow Dual Brush Pens. The process is simple and creates a colorful and fun ZIA!

IMG_0310

Start with an image for your negative space, kept the silhouette simple and then cut out as your template. I used Tombow Removable Adhesive on the back to help hold it to the paper while I traced around it with a pencil. I like to use a hard graphite pencil,  Tombow 4H Drawing Pencil, for all my strings, the light graphite means you have no erasing after you have added all your tangles.

IMG_0309

Tangle with a permanent black pen all round your traced images leaving the dragonfly images blank.

IMG_1331

Use the Indirect Blending method to color in all your tangles with Dual Brush Pens. Here I did an adjacent color combination with greens and blues.

IMG_0519

For more information on the Indirect Blending method, you can purchase my book ‘Time to Tangle with Colors’, Design Originals Publication.

IMG_0521

There is also a section in the ‘Joy of Zentangle’ that teaches you the coloring method. You can purchase both books online through Design Originals or from your local CZT may also sell the book! (you can also click on me – I’m in Canada – and I can sell you an autographed copy !)

Be sure to visit all the projects featured this week and leave a comment for your chance to win!  We will be giving away an amazing prize pack of Tombow Dual Brush Pens , Mono Adhesive Removable, Mono Adhesive Permanent.
The more you comment, the more chances you have to win! Hop on over to see what our guest designer Laura Kelly has created for you!

bloghop_LK

If you enjoyed this post please follow me on:

Facebook facebo

Twitter
twitter

 

37 Responses to “Negative Image ZIA by Marie Browning”

  1. Love this ZIA, Marie. The greens are unusual, but work so well with the blues. Just beautiful. Are you doing more classes on MCC?

  2. mdcash Says:

    This is beautiful Marie! I love the bright colors!

  3. Bette Says:

    This is a fun technique. Thanks for sharing

  4. Barb Penn Says:

    Great idea. Thanks for sharing.

  5. NancyW Says:

    I love Zentangles and the Tombow markers have beautiful color.

  6. Oh my – greens, a favourite with me. I have such fun with all the different ways to use tangles & this is a real beauty.
    Thanks again for all your inspiration.
    Paula (PEP)

  7. Wow Marie!! This is amazing!! What a gorgeous idea!! I’ve never done color with zentagles, you got me in the mood!!
    TFS!! Take Care!!
    Jennie @ http://earthyscrap.blogspot.com/

  8. Debbie Fisher Says:

    beautiful zentangles!

  9. Sue D Says:

    Very colorful!

  10. Janis Says:

    Stunningly gorgeous!!!

  11. Carol B Says:

    Fabulous project, love the colors! I love Zentangle and yours is wonderful!

    Carol B
    ciaoitalia2007(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. this is awesome !

  13. Penny H. Says:

    Absolutely AMAZED! I first thought that you stamped over the cut out or embossed on top of the printed paper – never though you DREW all that wonderfulness. GREAT! TFS!

  14. julie828 Says:

    Very nice . Your color choices are beautiful . TFS .

  15. Colleen Says:

    This is amazingly intricate, BRAVO on your patience!!

  16. What a beautiful project! I love the colors you used!

  17. Edgar Poe Says:

    It’s so unique, a negative image with a pentangle background. I so love it!

  18. Kris Budreau Says:

    Wow!! This is amazing! Love your Zentangled background! This must have taken quite some time to complete! Well worth it, stunning! TFS God bless!

  19. Renee Says:

    Awesome work, true artistry!!

  20. Beautiful! I want to learn to zentangle!

  21. Desiree Says:

    Breathtaking…thank you for sharing!

  22. that is such a cool and clever technique! thanks for sharing!

  23. Barb Wagar Says:

    Wow! What an incredible art form!

  24. barbara macaskill Says:

    GORGEOUS! I love the bright and wonderful colors! This is very eye-catching and attractive! TFS~

  25. Alexia Misso Says:

    This is a fun and great technique. Thanks for sharing!

  26. Carol Burger Says:

    Such a stunning idea and technique! Gonna give this a try!!

  27. It really comes to life with the colors… awesome creation…
    wow, this is awesome…
    morentin1326
    ATaol
    DOTcom
    adventureofthecreativemind.blogspot.com

  28. Wow this is awesome!

  29. Jackie Says:

    Wow, this is gorgeous. I have never heard of zentangles before I am going to have to check this out some more.

  30. Iris Soscia Says:

    So lovely.

  31. sherrip Says:

    Very cool effect!

  32. This is so neat. I love zentangles. The coloring really makes it all pop. very inspiring.
    Amy Jones

  33. Tina V Says:

    Wow oh Wow! Zentangles look fun!

  34. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after looking at some of the posts I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back regularly!

  35. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I in finding It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to offer one thing back and aid others like you aided me.

  36. Accent Rugs Says:

    Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog
    stand out. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Bless you

  37. […] Negative Image ZIA By Marie Browning – Great use of negative space for zentangles. Show great contrast! […]


Leave a Reply

