Marie Browning

"Inspiring and honoring creativity"

Operation Write Home Blog Skip! by Marie Browning July 4, 2013

4thJuly BlogskipI am celebrating July 4 by Blog skipping with Operation Write Home! 

144

Make sure you read all bout this fantastic organization that devotes their efforts in “Helping Heroes keep in Touch with Home! I started with a sketch that OWH provides on the website – it helps to get design layouts to get your creativity charged!

IMG_1462Here is my finished card, created with the help of paper from Bazzill, Dual Brush Markers and Dot Adhesive Stamp Runner from Tombow. Perfect products to make sure you stay within the OWH guidelines for making these cards. I also added some washi tape and a stamped sentiment.

IMG_1463When you design a simple card you are able to make lots to send to the troops!

4thofjulyMake sure you add a comment to get a chance to win these awesome products from Tombow! Now skip on over to Marlene’s Blog and see what she has created!

IMG_1461

Okay, that was fun! Let’s make even more cards to send to the troops!

VWP_0507signature-234

If you enjoyed this post please follow me on:

Facebook facebo

Twitter
twitter

 

89 Responses to “Operation Write Home Blog Skip! by Marie Browning”

  1. Kathy Stacy Says:

    I don’t usually make more than one type of card at a time, but you bring up a good idea – thanks!

  2. Great cards! I love that vintage, rustic flag as a focal in your patriotic design and the nice contrasting scalloped border framing it. Thanks for joining in today ad supporting OWH!

    Paula S.
    OWH Blog Team

  3. These are awesome. I LOVE the flags. Thanks for sharing.

    Pam

  4. Susan C Says:

    Great cards. Thank you for supporting OWH!!!!

  5. Connie Says:

    Super cute ideas….I’m married to an active duty Airman and have recieved cards from OWH from him while deployed. Love all the cool ink techniques you’re using!

  6. Nancy K. Says:

    Hi Marie!!! I love love love your beautiful cards! Thanks for hopping along with us!!

  7. Susan S Says:

    Nice cards. I love a simple design that makes it easy to make lots of them! The scalloped piece behind the flag is a nice element.

  8. Julie w/OWH Says:

    Great cards, Marie! I love the way you framed out the flag with the text washi tape! Just lovely! Thanks so much for participating in our hop today!

  9. Narda Dudley Says:

    Loved both version of your card! How fun to make a serious and a brighter version! So much out there to do! Thanks for your creativity!

  10. I love your cards, but my favorite is the vintage looking flag one. I love all the distressing on it.

  11. That vintage flag card – wow! Just adorable!!!! And the flower cards are so cheerful – thanks for inspiring us!

  12. Carol Says:

    The flag card is gorgeous.

  13. Kristi Says:

    I love the hearts on those cards! The perfect touch.

  14. DianeW Says:

    The rustic flag is gorgeous! Thanks for supporting OWH and our troops!

  15. Lori Says:

    I love the flag too. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Marcy Walsh Says:

    Sure liked your card and the use of the layout! The newspaper strips was a clever idea. Thanks for sharing! Happy 4th.

  17. Penny Ward Says:

    How darling are your card?!? Love how the sentiment spilled over into the heart! Super Duper!!!

    • conil Says:

      Really love this flag…you enhanced it so well. And your other card is such a happy thing for our heroes to send.

  18. Debbie Fisher Says:

    great cards Marie! I sent off 107 cards for the troops. It felt so good to know that I could do something so simple to bring them and the ones that receive them a little joy.

  19. Nancy M Says:

    Oh, I really like the vintage, distressed flag! Nice job! TFS and skipping and supporting OWH! Happy 4th.

  20. Sharon Roselli Says:

    Great flag card! thanks for the extra card too. Love that you used newspaper strips great way to keep them in the loop .

  21. Linda Says:

    I love the cards, such a simple layout to a beautiful card. Liked the touch of Washi Tape also. You make some beautiful cards

  22. Joan k Says:

    Thanks for a nice patriotic dose of inspiration! I too use a lot of sketches to get started – this has really reduced that time it takes to design a card.

  23. Melissa T. Says:

    Multiples! Great way to make more cards. Love it!
    🙂

  24. Rebecca King Says:

    Love the flag & heart on your card!!! Good job!!!

  25. mary ann kelly Says:

    Colors galore!

  26. liblady1 Says:

    Love the flag card. I need to get started making multiples so I can accomplish more in less time.

  27. JO Ann Says:

    The cards are great – I love it when I can make multiples like you did

  28. Ava Oxley Says:

    I totally have an addiction to cool papers – and NOW to Washi tape. I have not seen that tape anywhere. 😦 Thanks for the idea of adding it to an OWH sketch. I also loved that you used the Tombow runner for the smaller items on the card. The ATG just can’t get that adhesive on there like the Tombow. Thanks for sharing your cards today!

  29. Judy Connerty Says:

    Very cool card! Good point about multiples. You encouraged me to pay more attention to the wonderful sketches!

  30. Robin Reed Says:

    Love the Washi tape idea.

  31. Patti Says:

    Really love your cards. I have been given some inspiration for some cards of my own. Thank you!!

  32. Great cards, love the flag so pretty.

  33. Andrea T Says:

    Love your card. Reminds me of a good old fashioned 4th of July parade, buntings on the buildings and flags a flyin’.

  34. Gorgeous cards, Marie!! I LOVE your style!!
    TFS!! Take Care!!
    Jennie @ http://earthyscrap.blogspot.com/

  35. Lee Tucker Says:

    I see that you still love these Tombow dual markers as much as I do! I love all of your cards. I try not to make too many specific holiday cards now, so your cards are a great reminder that these type of cards are ALWAYS needed at OWH! Thanks so much for your support of OWH! Have a happy 4th of July!

  36. Misty Says:

    I adore the vintage look! Nice papers and coloring.
    Hummer Hugs,
    Misty
    http://deliteful-gifts.blogspot.com/
    http://delitefulsuds.blogspot.com/
    hummingbird204 at comcast dot net

  37. Linda Marie Says:

    great cards! love the heart and flag.

  38. Shari b Says:

    Love your placement of the sentiment on the flag card. Great combination of elements too! Thank you for sharing!

  39. Annie W Says:

    Beautiful card…love the flag image. Thanks so much for sharing!

  40. Lynn Darda Says:

    Neat cards. Love the distressed colors on the flag.

  41. what an awesome card! The flag is great, the ‘older’ look is so nice!

  42. cdebbie672 Says:

    Thanks for sharing Marie. I love the flag it looks vintage!

  43. nmbwen@yahoo.com Says:

    Great cards. The stars and stripes is my favorite

  44. Jean Bullock Says:

    Well done.

  45. Hannah M Says:

    I really like your card design. You’re right about a simple design making it easier to get more cards done.

  46. JoAnn B. Says:

    Love your cards. Thanks for sharing.

  47. Kaylee S. Says:

    Stunning card. I love the distressed look of the flag as and the newsprint border.

  48. I love simple cards too. Great flag and I love how the sentiment incorporates the heart.

  49. Aundria B. Says:

    Love your rustic Americana cards and how you made the flag the focal point, and how the “you” of the sentiment is in the heart. Thank you for sharing these wonderful cards and for your support of our heroes and OWH.

  50. Linda L Says:

    Great vintage feel to your first set of cards! Love those papers in the second set! Thanks for your support of OWH!!!

  51. Lyn Kaufmann Says:

    Wonderful card, it has that antique feel so many of us love for the Fourth of July.
    Thank you for sharing the ideas and the artwork.
    Lyn

  52. Thanks for showing multiples! I love to do a batch of 8 or 10 in one design, since designing takes me longer than making!! LOL!

  53. amy c/p Says:

    I love your flag card with the heart …that is so cute I am so into flags and love to see what everyone does with them…thanks too for showing multiple cards I need to do more of them ….

  54. Patti T. Says:

    Love your cards! I was wondering where the flag is from? Thanks for sharing!

  55. SuzAnn Says:

    Great cards, especially love the Americana flag ones. I too make multiples, usually 8 or 12 at a time, and find it helps me feel productive. I get too exhausted finding a new sketch for every card. Thanks for supporting OWH!!

    SuzAnn
    OWH Board member

  56. Sue D Says:

    Great card. I like the flag as the focal point and your use of washi tape.

  57. Kathy T Says:

    Terrific cards. Love the flags.

  58. Pat Y Says:

    Great cards I like the vintage look of the flag.

  59. Rufus Says:

    Loved you vintage flag. Thanks to you and Tombow for your support of OWH and all of our Heroes. Wishing you and yours a safe and Happy 4th of July
    R/

  60. Great layering to add detail! Thanks for sharing!

  61. Cheryl A. Says:

    Really great card, love the use of the washi tape and the borders, adds special touches! TFS!

  62. Renee Stuck Says:

    Your cards are awesome. I really appreciate them and I know the soldiers are going to love them. Thanks for sharing.

  63. Aunt Dee Says:

    Love the simple elegance of the cards. they look fabulous and will be well received by the troops. Great job.

  64. erika Says:

    Great cards Marie! They’re both very different and using that sketch highlights the sentiment.

  65. Angie Hall Says:

    Love the flag cards. This is a great sketch. Thanks for your support of OWH.

  66. Ann M Says:

    What fun cards! I LOVE the flag ones. The sketch is perfect for them. The distressed look is wonderful!

  67. Bev Says:

    The flag cards are great! I love the vintage look of the flag.

  68. Janis in ID Says:

    Such a cute set!!
    ❤ J

  69. Fran Green Says:

    The flag card will be great to send to a male or female. I love the vintage look. The flower card will appeal to a girl of any age. thanks for sharing two great cards.

  70. Cynthia Rose Says:

    Wonderful cards. I love your signature.

  71. Gilu Says:

    Great cards. Thanks for sharing.

  72. Great cards! I like to make mine in multiples too. Love your usage of the washi tape, that’s one product that stumps me.

  73. lucyschmidt Says:

    Both cards are wonderful and very useful for OWH purposes. Thanks for including variations. I don’t have “the vision” many cardmakers have.

  74. Diana Newman Says:

    All your cards are terrific! Simple layouts do make it easier to make duplicates!

  75. Marsha D Says:

    Simple yet beautiful cards. Love the flag. Thanks for the ideas.

  76. You could definitely see your skills in the work you write.
    The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.
    All the time go after your heart.

  77. Greetings, I do think your website may be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up! Aside from that, fantastic site!

  78. Patricia Meadows Says:

    Love your vintage flag card. Thanks for the ideas.

  79. Good post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?

    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Many thanks!

  80. Since the admin of this website is working, no question very
    soon it will be well-known, due to its quality contents.

  81. Hi to all, it’s truly a nice for me to pay a visit this website, it includes priceless Information.

  82. I got this site from my pal who informed me
    on the topic of this website and at the moment this time I am browsing this website and reading very
    informative articles or reviews at this place.

  83. Florida Says:

    That is a great tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Short but very precise info… Appreciate your sharing this one.

    A must read article!

  84. nathanmcbhqsgf Says:

    Genuinely when someone doesn’t understand afterward its up
    to other people that they will assist, so here it
    occurs.

  85. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was totally right.

    This post actuallyy made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much timme I had spent
    forr this information! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

