Marie Browning

"Inspiring and honoring creativity"

My Mind’s Eye and Tombow Blog Hop March 30, 2014

Welcome to the My Mind’s Eye and Tombow Blog Hop! If you just came from Lea Lawson’s Blog you are on the right track. If not, you may want to start here.

IMG_3471I LOVE the ‘Now and Then’ Collection from My Mind’s Eye and I especially love all the coordinating embellishments that make designing  pages a breeze! IMG_3470I started with my chosen photograph and hand colored it to fit the color theme. I used Irojiten Colored Pencils to adjust and change the coloring to make it fit perfectly. I printed out the photograph onto Canson Mix Media paper. I also cropped the photo and faded the color before printing. IMG_3472Next I choose the Irojiten colors to match the collection’s palette. I didn’t use every color, but it was nice to develop a complete palette for future creations. The Irojiten colors to match the Now and Then collection are as follows: D-1 Crimson, V-2 Tangerine, P-3 Shell Pink, P-13 Gamboge, Lg-7 Quartz Green, Lg-8 Porcelain Blue, DI-7 Jay Blue and P-10 Pigeon Gray. Choose from  any of these palette colors and color your photo with a light blending.

IMG_3469To put the page together, I started with the paper panels and arranged them using the Removable Adhesive. This allows me to move them around but stay in place as I create. After permanently adhering the pages down with Dots Adhesive, I added the ‘Now and Then’ Embellishments. I used Chipboard Elements, Label Stickers, Small Flair Pins, Decorative Brads, Word Stickers and the 3×4 Cards. I especially loved the My Mind’s Eye Enamel Dots to add that finishing touch! For some pieces I used Foam Tabs to create a very dimensional arrangement.

IMG_3467IMG_3468I decided to mount this page onto a canvas. I edged the canvas by cutting 2″ strips of cardstock, scoring them and attaching them with Xtreme Adhesive. I added details with some Now and Then Washi Tape to give the corners a finished look. I then mounted the page onto the canvas with the Xtreme for a strong and permanent display. Remember when using the Xtreme to ‘slide to the side’ after applying the adhesive and before lifting.

Blog Hop_MMELook at the fabulous prize you can win for playing with us! My Mind’s Eye Charmed Collection, Tombow’s New Xtreme Adhesive, MONO Multi liquid Glue, and  Irojiten Colored Pencils!

To be eligible to win, please comment on each of the designers projects and don’t forget to “Like” My Mind’s Eye on Facebook Page and “Like” the Tombow Facebook Page. If you don’t have a Facebook, still comment on the projects and Tombow will select someone to win a prize just for playing! Commenting for your chance to win this blog hop prize will end March 30th at Midnight EST! We will announce the Winner on March 31st via our Social Media outlets!

 

25 Responses to “My Mind’s Eye and Tombow Blog Hop”

  1. Debbie Fisher Says:

    Great detail

  2. Fantastic colorful layout!

  3. Linsey Says:

    Such a delightful page-turned-art canvas, Marie! I love that you used a variety of the Tombow adhesives for different elements to give us a good idea of how these will work on our own projects too–very helpful 🙂 And of course, your LO rocks!!! Muting the photo color is such a neat effect and I’m glad you got to play with some of the colored pencils too, yay! I absolutely LOVE that you stuck this page on a canvas, decorating the sides!! Such a beautiful job! Thanks for being a part of today hop and providing us with some great feedback and sharing your wonderful project and inspiration!!! HUGS and happy Sunday!

  4. Stokely Says:

    Love the color combo – I don’t see it often. But it’s really fun and looks good with your photos.

  5. Helen Markee Says:

    nice layout and choice of colors

  6. Jean Bullock Says:

    Terrific job. I love the layout.

  7. marylouh Says:

    Great colors. the picture is the focal point – sometimes they get lost in the embellishments.
    Love it.

  8. very fun layout, very lively!!

  9. Linda Storey Says:

    I love your layout & the colors. At the only store in my town we don’t have the enamel dots. I had never seen them before until this Hop. I’m going to have to find some online, cause I really like how they make this pop. Thanks foe sharing your talents with us on this HOP. Thanks for the chance to win.

  10. snazzy jj Says:

    Colorful canvas and you got to love the xtreme (just got mind and along with a big box of stuff from Tombow’s warehouse sale. I’m ready to get sticky!

  11. Ange Says:

    Your page is very fun!

  12. Kailash Says:

    Love this pretty layout!!!

  13. Miriam Prantner Says:

    Fun layout! I like how you used the little stickers/strips/dots to frame the picture.

  14. Robin Says:

    Love how you matched up the pencils to the paper first, great idea! Thanks for sharing your lovely layout!

  15. Tona Says:

    Love your project!

  16. Kathleen Rimer Says:

    Marie – I love your layout! Wonderful color combos.

  17. Such a fun layout! I love that collection!

  18. Liz O. Says:

    Fabulous altered canvas Marie! Love all the details, colors and techniques you used they pair perfectly with your lovely picture. I have added a few to my “must try technique” list! Thank you for the inspiration!
    Have a wonderful day!

  19. Amy C. Says:

    What a pretty layout! I love that you put it on canvas. What a neat idea!

  20. Robin B. Says:

    What a beautiful layout! I love the layers and embellishments, thanks for sharing.

  21. I absolutely love the colors you used it was like you knew just how to make me smile. You are so talented and I really enjoyed your blog hop. I am a fan of all of you. so check and check. Thank you for sharing.

  22. betina post Says:

    Love this canvas and layout! Great idea!

  23. Alexia Misso Says:

    Amazing layout!!

  24. Denise Parcells Says:

    Oooh, love that you mountain this to canvas! Fab idea!


Leave a Reply

