Marie Browning

"Inspiring and honoring creativity"

Blog Hop with Walnut Hollow August 15, 2014

Facebook-Post

Welcome to the Tombow and Walnut Hollow Blog Hop! If you just came from Jennie’s post you are on the right track! If not, you may want to start here to play along! 

IMG_0918

I am a huge fan of Walnut Hollow! They have beautiful wooden surfaces to decoupage and paint, like the recipe box I used here. This Basswood box is ready to use and made in the USA using sustainable wood. 

IMG_0921IMG_0922

I used Tombow’s Aqua Liquid Glue to cover the box with beautiful papers from the Burlap & Bouquets Collection from Fancy Pants Designs. The Aqua works extremely well for decoupaging paper onto wood. I simply cut the paper to size and then use the broad applicator to attach the papers for a smooth, wrinkle free bond. Talk about mess free, no brushes to wash! When dry, I use the Aqua to give the surfaces an all-over brushing. It dries clear and matte! The flowers motifs from the Burlap & Bouquets collection on the top of the box were applied the same way. COOK, EAT and BAKE using large alpha stickers from the collection were added when dry.  I also added a washi tape edge around the box rim for added embellishment. Don’t forget the final touches inside the box; recipe card dividers and a label with ‘FAMILY FAVORITES’ on the lid.

 IMG_0919

I used a Power Tab  to attach a clothespin to the lid for a handy recipe holder! 

Facebook-Post-prize

Here are the prizes that you can win! From Walnut Hollow a Shield Plaque, a Card Box and a Rectangular Serving Tray. From Tombow: Power Tabs, Foam Tabs and Xtreme Adhesive! Make sure to comment on all the projects to be eligible to win! Now go to Walnut Hollow to see what wonderful projects they have created! 

 

14 Responses to “Blog Hop with Walnut Hollow”

  1. wendy l Says:

    nice

  2. Adorable recipe box! Love it!

  3. Janet Cobb Says:

    This hop has been amazingly full of ideas for Christmas gift-giving! And my mother-in-law would love this for her Oct. birthday! Thanks for all of the great inspiration during the hop!

  4. marylouh Says:

    Thanks for the inspiration to finish a box I started a long time ago. Love the clothespin holding the recipe card.
    thanks for sharing

  5. Fran Olson Says:

    I need one of these. 🙂

  6. Sue K Says:

    Fantastic recipe box, I love all of your elements, would love to make on of these myself. I need to do SOMETHING with my lose recipes.

    Sue
    http://suek86401.blogspot.com/

  7. Ann Custer Says:

    Such an adorable box, love the DP you used, great to see the liquid adhesive in action and great idea to add that clothes pin to the box to hold the recipe. Love that idea.

  8. Viki B Says:

    This is such a cute recipe box! I love this project and it is useful too. These is nothing like a written recipe. I wish I had my moms box.

  9. Jean Bullock Says:

    Very cute. I like how the divider folders match the inside of the lid. One of those little extras that make it so nice.

  10. Carla Hundley Says:

    Wonderful way to use the
    box, love the clothespin
    on it!
    Carla from Utah

  11. very neat Marie, i need one of these for all those receipts that I have laying around.

  12. Kris B Says:

    What a beautiful recipe box! Love how you attached the clothespin, what a great idea!

  13. Katie B. Says:

    Great recipie box! I love how you decorated it and the little clip on the outside is such a great idea. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Katie B.

  14. We love your Recipe Box – great idea to add the clothespin to hold the recipes!


Leave a Reply

